No events to show.

EIVA Announces 2018 Hall of Fame Class

EIVA Announces 2018 Hall of Fame Class

BRONXVILE, N.Y. – In its 46th year, the Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (EIVA) is proud to announce its seventh EIVA Hall of Fame Class. The three honorees will be recognized at the 2018 EIVA Championship match at the site of the top seed for the tournament.

Dave DeNure (East Stroudsburg ’78), Max Jeanty (Rutgers-Newark), and Kyle Robinson (LIU Southampton ’98) are the three inductees representing the deep history of the EIVA, founded as the Eastern Collegiate Volleyball League (ECVL) in 1971.

“These three individuals were not only outstanding players during their collegiate careers, each has made life-long contributions to the sport of volleyball,” stated EIVA President Ron Shayka. “They continue to have a positive impact on young players as coaches and officials to this day.”

DeNure is a member of both the East Stroudsburg University and New Jersey Institute of Technology Hall of Fames. At ESU he was a three-time All-East honoree and would coach both the men’s and women’s programs for a year. At NJIT he was an accomplished coach for the men and women as his men’s squad finished NCAA Division III runner-up in 1997 and they were EIVA Division III champions twice in his 10-year coaching career at NJIT.

Jeanty played for Rutgers-Newark where he helped the Scarlet Raiders become nationally recognized and garnered All-American status. He is currently a USA Volleyball (USAV) referee in Florida.

Robinson was a team captain and All-American honoree at the middle and opposite positions at LIU Southampton. He would then play for the USA Volleyball National Team as well as internationally with teams in Belgium and Greece before coaching volleyball at the collegiate level. Most recently he was an assistant coach at University of Oklahoma from 2015 through 2017 for Santiago Restrepo, EIVA Hall of Fame Class of 2015 inductee.

“I am so proud of the continued leadership our EIVA displays in building, remembering, and honoring those who came before us; truly pioneering the way to one of our country’s best national sports program,” explained Ivan Marquez, Executive Director of the EIVA. “Welcome to the EIVA Class of 2018 and a million thanks for your contributions to #AlwaysEIVA.”

Leading up to the 2018 EIVA Championship match, will feature an in-depth look at each of the Hall of Fame inductees to fully recognize their accomplishments and impact in the world of EIVA Volleyball.